Skip to content
Ealing Counts — Ealing, in numbers.Local help →

Ealing, in numbers

People and living standards

Ealing council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Ealing council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 283,782 in 1991 to 387,072 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Ealing council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 292,811 people in 1996; 387,072 people in 2025. 32.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Ealing council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991283,782
1992284,936
1993285,801
1994286,383
1995288,486
1996292,811
1997293,995
1998296,274
1999302,252
2000304,370
2001307,276
2002309,242
2003308,108
2004310,073
2005312,774
2006315,329
2007318,671
2008324,022
2009329,966
2010334,073
2011339,314
2012344,834
2013350,650
2014354,660
2015359,144
2016362,163
2017362,670
2018364,208
2019367,284
2020367,936
2021366,762
2022371,951
2023381,747
2024387,680
2025387,072
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Ealing council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 61,249 people in 1996; 68,784 people in 2025. 12.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Ealing council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199156,873
199258,201
199359,252
199459,889
199560,392
199661,249
199761,408
199861,752
199961,835
200060,702
200159,686
200259,752
200359,968
200460,387
200561,092
200661,657
200762,605
200864,326
200966,179
201067,650
201169,158
201270,705
201372,252
201473,287
201574,297
201674,650
201774,572
201874,140
201974,021
202073,126
202171,338
202271,090
202371,247
202470,519
202568,784
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Ealing council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 196,085 people in 1996; 267,986 people in 2025. 36.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Ealing council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991190,206
1992190,362
1993190,328
1994190,560
1995192,421
1996196,085
1997197,419
1998199,513
1999205,498
2000209,003
2001212,842
2002214,790
2003213,503
2004215,196
2005217,188
2006219,217
2007221,479
2008224,820
2009228,430
2010230,591
2011233,700
2012236,768
2013240,139
2014242,223
2015244,999
2016246,833
2017246,543
2018247,603
2019249,934
2020250,870
2021250,637
2022254,700
2023263,193
2024268,331
2025267,986
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Ealing council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 35,477 people in 1996; 50,302 people in 2025. 41.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Ealing council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199136,703
199236,373
199336,221
199435,934
199535,673
199635,477
199735,168
199835,009
199934,919
200034,665
200134,748
200234,700
200334,637
200434,490
200534,494
200634,455
200734,587
200834,876
200935,357
201035,832
201136,456
201237,361
201338,259
201439,150
201539,848
201640,680
201741,555
201842,465
201943,329
202043,940
202144,787
202246,161
202347,307
202448,830
202550,302
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 367,116 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ealing · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh111,24130.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African39,49110.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups19,1615.2%
White158,46343.2%
Other ethnic group38,76010.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 338,449 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ealing · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White165,81849%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups15,0664.5%
Asian/Asian British100,43929.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British36,86010.9%
Other ethnic group20,2666%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 300,948 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ealing · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White176,74158.7%
Mixed10,8803.6%
Asian/Asian British73,85124.5%
Black/Black British26,4568.8%
Chinese/Other13,0204.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 18.9% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Ealing council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,687 per person in 1997; £30,873 per person in 2024. 143.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Ealing council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,687
199812,981
199913,676
200014,389
200114,997
200215,307
200316,137
200416,649
200517,342
200617,876
200718,908
200819,401
200919,316
201019,751
201119,814
201220,909
201321,903
201423,023
201524,616
201624,647
201724,248
201825,085
201925,502
202025,241
202126,231
202227,826
202329,136
202430,873
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Ealing council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 19.6% in 1997; 18.9% in 2024. 0.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Ealing council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199719.6
199819.9
199920.9
200020.9
200121.2
200221
200323.8
200422.7
200523.4
200622.1
200723.2
200823.2
200920.6
201022.3
201121.6
201223.8
201325
201427.3
201529.4
201628
201723.1
201822.9
201921
202020.3
202120.1
202221.2
202319.2
202418.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.3%

21 March 2021 · Ealing council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.8%

21 March 2021 · Ealing council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.9%

21 March 2021 · Ealing council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · Ealing council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£585,000

July 2026 · Ealing council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£2,109

August 2026 · Ealing council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.